A 80.18 Batara <sup>1</sup> Die Beeretary

115 FEB -9 P3:48

Dr. R.

## SENATE P.S. Resolution No. 1156

)

)

)

## Introduced by: Senator Paolo Benigno "Bam" A. Aquino IV

## RESOLUTION RECOMMENDING THE POSTHUMOUS AWARDING OF THE MEDAL OF VALOR TO THE FORTY-FOUR (44) PNP SAF OFFICERS WHO SACRIFICED THEIR LIVES IN MAMASAPANO, MAGUINDANAO, IN THE PERFORMANCE OF THEIR DUTY AND COMMENDING THEM FOR THEIR EXEMPLARY COURAGE AND HEROISM.

Whereas, the 1987 Constitution upholds that the maintenance of peace and order, the protection of life, liberty and property and the promotion of the general welfare are essential for the enjoyment by all the people of the blessings of democracy;

**Whereas**, Republic Act No. 6975 otherwise known as the Department of the Interior and Local Government Act of 1990, establishes one of the core functions of the Philippine National Police (PNP) which is to maintain peace and order and take all necessary steps to ensure public safety;

**Whereas**, on January 25, 2015, members of the PNP Special Action Force (SAF) conducted a law enforcement operation that involved the serving of an outstanding arrest warrant to Southeast Asia's most wanted terrorist, Zulkipli Bin Hir, alias Abu Marwan, in a rebel-controlled area in Mamasapano, Maguindanao;

**Whereas**, the SAF team succeeded in killing the terrorist, Marwan. However, in the course of the operation, members of the team came under intense rebel fire from members of the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) and the Bangsamoro Islamic Freedom Fighters (BIFF). Forty four (44) SAF officers were killed in the encounter which lasted eleven hours;

**Whereas**, the names of the 44 SAF officers killed during this high-risk police operation are as follows:

- 1. Sr. Insp. Ryan Ballesteros Pabalinas
- 2. Sr. Insp. John Garry Alcantara Erana
- 3. Sr. Insp. Max Jim Ramirez Tria
- 4. Sr. Insp. Cyrus Paleyan Anniban
- 5. Sr. Insp. Gednat G. Tabdi
- 6. Insp. Joey Sacristan Gamutan
- 7. Insp. Rennie Tayrus
- 8. SPO1 Lover L. Inocencio
- 9. PO3 Rodrigo F. Acob Jr.
- 10. PO3 Virgel S. Villanueva
- 11. PO3 Andres Viernes Duque Jr.
- 12. PO3 Vitoriano Nacion Acain
- 13. PO3 Noel Onangey Golocan
- 14. PO3 Junrel Narvas Kibete
- 15. PO3 Jed-In Abubakar Asjali
- 16. PO3 Robert Dommolog Allaga

17. PO3 John Lloyd Rebammonte Sumbilla 18. PO2 Amman Misuari Esmula 19, PO2 Peterson I. Carap 20. PO2 Roger C. Cordero 21. PO2 Nicky DC Nacino Ir. 22. PO2 Glenn Berecio Bedua 23. PO2 Chum Goc-Ong Agabon 24. PO2 Richelle Salangan Baluga 25. PO2 Noel Nebrida Balaca 26. PO2 Joel Bimidang Dulnuan 27. PO2 Godofredo Basak Cabanlet 28. PO2 Franklin Cadap Danao 29. PO2 Walner Faustino Danao 30. PO2 Jerry Dailay Kayob **31. PO2 Noble Sungay Kiangan** 32. PO2 Ephraim G. Meija **33. PO2 Omar Agacer Nacionales** 34. PO2 Rodel Eva Ramacula 35. PO2 Romeo Valles Senin II 36. PO1 Russel Bawaan Bilog 37. PO1 Angel C. Kodiamat 38, PO1 Windell Llano Candano **39. PO1 Loreto Guyab Capinding** 40. PO1 Gringo Charag Cayang-o 41. PO1 Romeo Cumanov Cempron 42. PO1 Mark Lory Orlogue Clemencio 43. PO1 Joseph Gumatay Sagonoy 44. PO1 Oliebeth Ligutan Viernes

Whereas, Republic Act No. 9049 honors military heroes and affiliates for their supreme self-sacrifice and distinctive acts of heroism and gallantry by awarding the Medal of Valor which entitles the widower and/or dependents of the awardee to a lifetime monthly gratuity and precedence in employment in National Government Agencies (NGAs) or Government-Owned and Controlled Corporations (GOCCs) among other benefits;

**Whereas**, the 44 officers of the PNP-SAF fought valiantly and sacrificed their lives in the performance of their duty, in the service to the Filipino people and the nation's quest for peace;

**NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED**, recommending the posthumous awarding of the Medal of Valor to the forty-four (44) PNP SAF officers who sacrificed their lives in Mamasapano, Maguindanao, in the performance of their duty and commending them for their exemplary courage and heroism.

Adopted,

Ban Quinr