Press Release
May 20, 2015

Senate commends actress Nora Aunor
for Lifetime Achievement Award

The Senate today adopted a resolution congratulating actress Nora Cabaltera Villamayor, popularly known as Nora Aunor, for being bestowed the Lifetime Achievement Award by the ASEAN International Film Festival and Awards (AIFFA).

The ASEAN International Film Festival and Awards is a biennial event that celebrates the best of films in the ASEAN Region.

Senate Resolution No. 1270 was introduced by Sen. Manuel "Lito" Lapid.

The Senate paid tribute to Aunor "for making the country proud when she was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award during the ASEAN International Film Festival and Awards (AIFFA) at the Borneo Convention Centre in Kuching, Malaysia last April 11."

"The Senate on several occasions acknowledged outstanding Filipinos for their astonishing feat of bringing home pride and glory to the country by becoming champions in the international scene," the resolution said.

"By being bestowed this award, critically-acclaimed screen legend Nora Aunor, who also won in various international film festivals from Brussels, Cairo, Berlin and Cannes, has yet again made our country proud and has shown the world the excellence of Filipino talent," the resolution added.

Aunor started her career as a singer after she won an amateur singing contest. She made her film debut in 1967 with All Over the World and guested in youth-oriented films. She transformed herself into a serious actress performing in films such as Tatlong taong walang Diyos (1976), Bona (1980), Himala (1982), The Flor Contemplacion Story (1995) and Thy Womb (2012) which gave her international and local awards and nominations.

Aunor received 17 FAMAS Award nominations and was elevated to the "Hall of Fame" after winning five Best Actress awards. She is the most nominated actress of Gawad Urian Awards with 18 nominations, winning seven. Aunor has more nominations as Best Actress than any other Filipino action in both FAMAS and Gawad Urian award giving bodies. She won eight trophies from PMPC Star Awards for her work in television and movies, eight Metro Manila Film Festival, four Luna Awards, five Young Critics Circle Awards, a Cairo Film Festival award, an Asia Pacific Screen Awards, an Asian Film Awards, amongst others.

The Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences Awards (FAMAS Awards) are the annual honors given by the Filipino Academy of Movie Arts. It is an organization composed of prize-winning writers and movie columnists, for achievements in the Philippine cinema for a calendar year. The Gawad Urian Awards on the other hand, are annual film awards given by the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (the Filipino Film Critics) and is regarded as the counterpart of the United States' New York Film Critics Circle. Due to its credible choices of winners, it is considered the most prestigious film awards in the Philippines. (Yvonne Almirañez)

News Latest News Feed