Press Release
June 1, 2015

Senate oks naming of roads after Cory, Ninoy, Kokoy Romualdez

The Senate today approved on third and final reading three bills which sought to name several roads in Iloilo City and Tacloban City after President Cory Aquino, Senator Ninoy Aquino, and former Leyte Kokoy Romualdez, respectively.

Senate President Franklin M. Drilon said that House Bills No. 4400, 4398, and 1042 were intended to "remind our countrymen of the excellence and sacrifice of distinguished Filipinos, and to inspire them to follow the good example set by such men and women."

Senator Bongbong Marcos Jr., chairman of the Senate Committee on Local Government and sponsor of the three measures, said HBN 4400 sought to name the circumferential road commencing at the junction of the Iloilo-Dumangas Coastal Road in Balabago, Jaro, Iloilo as the President Corazon C. Aquino Avenue. The circumferential road is projected to decongest the city's roads which are servicing vital access points like the Iloilo international airport, and features a 2.5-meter wide bicycle lane exclusively for non-motorized pedestrians.

Similarly, Marcos said HBN 4398 proposed to name the stretch of the national highway along the Iloilo Diversion/Iloilo Capiz Road (old route), which begins at the junction of General Luna to the airport access road and ends at the gate of the Iloilo International Airport, crossing over to the municipalities of Pavia, Sta. Barbara and Cabatuan in Iloilo as Senator Benigno S. Aquino Jr. Avenue.

Marcos said that the third measure, House Bill 1042, called for the naming of the diversion road located in Tacloban City, Leyte as Gov. Benjamin 'Kokoy' Romualdez Diversion Road.

Based on the guidelines of the National Historical Commission of the Philippines (NHCP), proposed name of persons for roads must have historical and cultural significance and must contribute as well to the positive development of national pride through good examples.

While the NHCP has a "10-year rule" policy, which means that at least 10 years should have been passed after the death of a person before he or she can be honored by naming a road after him or her, the Commission waived the rule for Romualdez, who died only in February 2012, because of his valuable service and contribution.

In the House of Representatives, HB 4400 and HB 4398 were originally introduced by Representatives Arcadio H. Garriceta, Ronald M. Cosalan, Jerry P. Treñas, Arthur R. Defensor Jr., Neil C. Tupas, Oscar "Richard" S. Garin Jr., and Hernan G. Biron Jr. Meanwhile, HB 1042 was first introduced by Representatives Ferdinand Martin Romualdez and Cosalan. (MaeJoy Albano-Miranda)

News Latest News Feed