Press Release
October 7, 2015

Senate approves establishment, conversion, separation and renaming of schools

The Senate today approved on third and final reading a bill mandating the establishment of three schools in Zamboanga del Sur, Southern Leyte and Navotas in Metro Manila; the separation of 18 school annexes all over the country into independent schools; the renaming of a school; and the conversion of two integrated schools.

Sen. Pia Cayetano, chairperson of the Committee on Education, Arts and Culture, said the establishment of more schools would help improve the delivery of quality education in the country.

Cayetano emphasized that her committee has already undertaken significant education reforms and will continue to work towards making quality education accessible to all Filipinos. She said three new national high schools would be established in Dumalinao, Zamboanga Del Sur; Libagon, Southern Leyte and Navotas, Metro Manila, respectively.

"The establishment of new schools would help decongest existing schools that are currently overcrowded, as well as alleviate the burden for students who would otherwise need to attend schools in farther localities," she said.

Cayetano said 18 high school annexes would be separated into independent schools "to enable these institutions to better serve their constituents and provide quality education."

The high school annexes are Kabugao Agro-Industrial High School - Lenneng Annex in Apayao; Limbaan National High School - Sta. Fe extension in Davao Del Norte; Tukuran Technical-Vocational High School - Tabuan Annex in Zamboanga del Sur; Compostela National High School - Corazon C. Aquino High School Annex in Compostela Valley; Luna National High School - Tumog Annex in Apayao; General Emilio Aguinaldo National High School Annex in Cavite; San Jose National High School - Daniel C. Mantos Annex in Zamboanga del Sur; Kalinga National High School - Salegseg Annex in Kalinga; Bacungan National High School - Palandok Annex in Zamboanga del Norte; Alfonso Castañeda National High School - Abuyo Annex in Nueva Vizcaya ; Sta. Marcela National High School - Consuelo Annex in Apayao; Bacungan National High School - Talinga Annex in Zamboanga del Norte; Halapitan National High School - Little Baguio Annex in Bukidnon; Libertad National High School - Colongulo Annex in South Cotabato; Midsalip National High School - Buloron Annex in Zamboanga del Sur; Silae National High School - St. Peter Annex in Bukidnon; Pio Dalim Memorial School of Arts and Trades - Sta. Filomena Annex in Apayao and Bacungan National High School - Tinuyop Annex in Zamboanga del Norte.

Senate President Pro-Tempore Ralph Recto, who co-sponsored House Bill No. 1841, said the Batasan Hills National High School in Barangay Batasan Hills, Quezon City shall be renamed Corazon C. Aquino National High School in honor of the late President Corazon C. Aquino.

"Renaming of the Batasan Hills National High School to Corazon C. Aquino National High School would give homage to an icon of democracy in the Philippines," Recto said in his sponsorship speech. Cayetano said two schools in Iloilo, the Andres Bonifacio Elementary School in Barangay Jalandoni-Wilson and Bakhaw Elementary School in Barangay Bakhaw, would be known as the Andres Bonifacio Integrated School and Bakhaw Integrated School, respectively. (MaeJoy Albano-Miranda)

News Latest News Feed